Board of Management

The Board of Directors is the legal authority for Abbey Museum of Art and Archaeology, Inc.

Board members are responsible for the effective governance of the organisation.

Our Board members are:

  • Michelle Lember (Chairman)
  • Paul Garcia (Vice Chairman)
  • Robert Pitt (Treasurer)
  • Michael Strong (Emeritus Director and Senior Curator)
  • Edith Cuffe. O.A.M. (Director and Board Secretary)
  • Br Edward Strong
  • Sr Veronica Ruijgrok
  • Dr Geoff Ginn
  • Adam Leishman
  • Neil Hoddinett

Abbey Museum Patron

Emeritus Professor John Pearn AO, RFD is a long time supporter of the Abbey Museum and one of Australia’s most distinguished citizens. He is Consultant Paediatrician and sometime Professor of Paediatrics and Child Health at the University of Queensland based at the Lady Cilento Children’s Hospital in Brisbane. John has a lifelong commitment to history and heritage and for his contributions to scholarship was created an Honorary Visiting Fellow of Green College, Oxford. He has a distinguished military career in the Army Reserve and is a former Surgeon General to the Australian Defence Force, with active service in Vietnam and Rwanda.



  • Edith Cuffe, Director


  • Caroline Morrissey, Marketing and Sponsorship Manager


  • Damien Fegan, Education Manager


  • Michael Strong, Senior Curator
  • Jan Nargar, Registrar
  • Lincoln Morse, Display Technician


  • Melanie DeRegt, Museum Events Coordinator
  • Colleen Ogilvie, Medieval Festival Coordinator


  • Bridget Cuffe, Office Manager
  • Anne Vickers, Finance Manager
  • Tania Wickham, Administration Assistant
  • Miriam Cuffe, Personal Assistant to the Director
  • Marian Beattie, Librarian